Master of ceremonies


Ms Gill Callister

Associate Dean
Australia and New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG)

Gill Callister, Professor (Practice), Associate Dean at ANZSOG and 2019 Public Service Medal recipient, has dedicated her career to improving public policy and service delivery.

From 2015-2018, Gill served as Secretary of the Victorian Department of Education and Training (DET).

Prior to joining DET, she was the Secretary of the Victorian Department of Human Services (2009 -2014), where she led policy, legislative and service delivery reform. This followed a range of senior roles in the Victorian Public Service and a ten-year stint in the community sector working with children, young people and families.

Gill is the most recent past President of the Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA) (Victoria). Her leadership in public policy was recognised in 2013 when she was named in the Australian Financial Review’s 100 Women of Influence, and received a Sir James Wolfensohn Public Service Scholarship to attend Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government. In October 2014, Gill was awarded the IPAA National Fellowship award and a Monash University Fellowship and in 2017 was named as one of the top 50 women in the Victorian public service.

Gill holds Bachelor degrees in Social Work (with Honours) and Arts. 



Conference opener


The Honourable Anne Ferguson

Chief Justice
Supreme Court of Victoria

Chief Justice Anne Ferguson was appointed as the 12th Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Victoria in October 2017. 

Her Honour attended Monash University, where she finished top of her year and was awarded the Chief Justice’s Supreme Court Prize and the Flos Greig Memorial Prize.

The Chief Justice was awarded a Commonwealth Scholarship to study at the University of Southampton in the United Kingdom, where she obtained a PhD in Law, with a doctoral thesis on unfair contracts.

In 2005, her Honour became a partner at Allens Arthur Robinson (now Allens Linklaters), specialising in insolvency and general commercial litigation.  While a partner, she served as Honorary Secretary to the Council of Legal Education, when it was the body that determined the requirements for admission to practice and approved law courses.

The Chief Justice was appointed as a judge of the Trial Division of the Supreme Court in 2010, and to the Court of Appeal in 2014. 

The Chief Justice is also the Chair of the Judicial College of Victoria, the Courts Council and the Judicial Commission.